Menu

Dany GIGNOUX

(1944)

Born in Geneva in 1944, Dany Gignoux develops a humanistic view of the world as soon as she completes her studies. She travels extensively, takes an interest in distant cultures, and works briefly for the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), where she files photographs in the documentation service. Photography becomes a self-taught passion, then, quickly, her profession. She meets the Swiss photojournalist Max Vaterlaus, who makes his lab available to her and helps her to get contracts. She then starts collaborating with press agencies and reporting on sports and cultural events from all over the world: regattas on the Isle of Wight, spiritualism in Brazil, religion and cafés in Portugal and Spain, Swiss folklore, lighthouses in Brittany... She also carries out missions for the ICRC in Ethiopia and Chad.

Because of her love of music, she regularly attends the vibrant music scene around Lake Geneva and its many festivals, such as the Montreux Jazz Festival and Paléo Festival in Nyon. Between the early 70s and 2004, she takes several thousand photographs, mainly in black and white, of musicians throughout concerts, festivals, rehearsals or on the road. Among them, a string of famous stars of pop, rock, world music or French chanson: Joan Baez, Alain Bashung, David Bowie, Manu Dibango, Bob Dylan, Serge Gainsbourg, Bernard Lavilliers, Claude Nougaro… Above all, she has numerous opportunities to photograph the elite of jazz, a music genre she particularly likes: Chick Corea, Duke Ellington, Bill Evans, Ella Fitzgerald, Stan Getz, Keith Jarrett, Elvin Jones, Joe Lovano, Hermeto Pascoal, Oscar Peterson, Michel Petrucciani, Archie Shepp, Cecil Taylor, Sarah Vaughan...

This vast legacy places Dany Gignoux in a category of her own: like few other photographers, she shows that jazz is as much an art of living as it is a musical expression. Far from the elegant patina of Herman Leonard, the famous "eye of jazz", or the dramatic flamboyance of Francis Wolff, the Blue Note producer who immortalised hundreds of the label's recording sessions on negative, Dany Gignoux's approach is above all intimate, spontaneous and personal.

She takes the time to follow the musicians on tour, to get to know them, lingers on a detail, a gesture, preferring an almost documentary background work to glamorous poses. The musicians themselves sometimes disappear from the picture in favour of an object they’re associated with, as in these close-ups of Gil Evans' legendary moccasins or the ashtray overflowing with cigarette butts of saxophonist Jimmy Lyons (who will die of lung cancer)...

She befriends many musicians, who appreciate her discretion and her respectful attitude. She follows Gil Evans, Miles Davis, Claude Nougaro or Dizzy Gillespie on their tours. They end up getting so used to her that they let her shoot as she pleases. Two beautiful books, the fruits of several decades of work, one devoted to Nougaro, the other one to Dizzy Gillespie, bear witness to this extraordinary complicity between the photographer and the musicians. Dizzy, the legend of be bop trumpet, is literally captured from every angle: trying on African stage clothes, talking at dawn with Parisian street cleaners, playing cards with a hotel employee, phoning his wife every day, joking with his musicians... and even taking a pee break on the side of the road!

In the light of this intimacy developed backstage, the photos of concerts acquire another dimension, convey a unique complicity: the photographer's gaze allows us to penetrate at the very heart of the spontaneous musical creation that takes place on stage, in front of her lens.
Luca Sabbatini (freelance journalist)

Display only available items

Ella Fitzgerald, Montreux

1969

CHF 590.–

Ella Fitzgerald, Montreux

1969

CHF 590.–

Joseph Heeb, Geneva

1970

Price upon request

New

Duke Ellington, Montreux

1970

Sold

Joséphine Baker, Lausanne

1970

CHF 420.–

Foire aux oignons, Bern

circa 1970

Price upon request

Herbie Mann, Montreux

circa 1970

Price upon request

Joseph Heeb, Carouge

1970

Price upon request

New

Joséphine Baker

1970

CHF 460.–

Duke Ellington, Montreux

1970

CHF 620.–

Joseph Heeb, Carouge

1970

Price upon request

New

"Paon mécanique" de Joseph Heeb, Carouge

1970

Price upon request

New

Horloge hydraulique de Joseph Heeb, Carouge

circa 1970

Price upon request

New

Fontaine de Zähringen & Zytglogge, Bern

circa 1970

Price upon request

Communes & campagne - Le Salève vu de Puplinge, Geneva

circa 1971

Price upon request

New

Cimetière de Münster, Valais

1971

Price upon request

Jean Kazez - horloger, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Jean Kazez - horloger, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Fonderie Mario Pastori, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Coursives rue Saint-Joseph 39, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Fonderie Mario Pastori, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Fonderie Mario Pastori, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Lindisfarne - Ray Laidlaw, Montreux

1972

Price upon request

Fonderie Mario Pastori, Carouge

circa 1972

Price upon request

New

Guy Béart, Geneva

1972

Price upon request

Menu

Dany GIGNOUX

(1944)

Enfant de Genève (née en 1944), Dany Gignoux acquiert dès la fin de ses études un regard humaniste sur le monde. Elle part sur les routes, s’intéresse aux cultures lointaines, travaille un temps pour le Comité International de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), où elle classe des clichés au service de documentation. La photographie, dont elle assimile les principes en autodidacte, devient dès lors une passion, puis très vite sa profession. Le photo-reporter suisse Max Vaterlaus lui ouvre les portes de son labo, l’aide à décrocher des contrats. Elle collabore avec des agences de presse, multiplie les reportages sportifs ou culturels aux quatre coins de la planète: régates à l’île de Wight, spiritisme au Brésil, religion et cafés au Portugal et en Espagne, folklore suisse, phares bretons… Elle renoue également avec le CICR, pour lequel elle effectue des missions en Ethiopie et au Tchad.

Dany Gignoux profite aussi des nombreux rendez-vous musicaux du bassin lémanique, notamment le Montreux Jazz Festival et le Paléo à Nyon, pour alimenter son amour de la musique. Entre le début des années 70 et 2004, elle prend plusieurs milliers de photographies de musiciens, principalement en noir et blanc. Au fil des concerts et des festivals, les stars de la pop, du rock, de la world music ou de la chanson française défilent devant son objectif: Joan Baez, Alain Bashung, David Bowie, Manu Dibango, Bob Dylan, Serge Gainsbourg, Bernard Lavilliers, Claude Nougaro… Mais surtout, elle côtoie l’élite du jazz, genre qu’elle affectionne particulièrement: Chick Corea, Duke Ellington, Bill Evans, Ella Fitzgerald, Stan Getz, Keith Jarrett, Elvin Jones, Joe Lovano, Hermeto Pascoal, Oscar Peterson, Michel Petrucciani, Archie Shepp, Cecil Taylor, Sarah Vaughan

Un vaste legs qui place Dany Gignoux dans une catégorie à part: elle montre comme peu d’autres photographes que le jazz est aussi bien un art de vivre qu’une expression musicale. Loin de l’élégance patinée d’un Herman Leonard, le célèbre «oeil du jazz», ou du dramatisme flamboyant de Francis Wolff, producteur de Blue Note qui immortalisa sur négatif des centaines de sessions d’enregistrement du label, l’approche de Dany Gignoux est avant tout intimiste, spontanée et personnelle.

Elle prend le temps de suivre les musiciens en tournée, apprend à les connaître, s’attarde sur un détail, un geste, préférant aux poses glamour un travail de fond presque documentaire. C’est si vrai que le musicien lui-même disparaît parfois de l’image au profit d’un objet qui lui est associé, comme en témoignent ces gros plans sur les légendaires mocassins de Gil Evans ou le cendrier débordant de mégots du saxophoniste Jimmy Lyons (qui mourra d’un cancer des poumons)…

Elle se lie d’amitié avec de nombreux musiciens, qui apprécient sa discrétion et son regard respectueux, qui va droit à l’essentiel. Elle accompagne Gil Evans, Miles Davis, Claude Nougaro ou Dizzy Gillespie dans leurs tournées. Ils finissent par si bien s’habituer à elle qu’ils la laissent mitrailler à sa guise. Deux beaux livres, l’un consacré à Nougaro, l’autre à Gillespie, nourris du travail de plusieurs décennies, témoignent de cette connivence extraordinaire entre la photographe et les musiciens. Légendaire trompettiste du be bop, Dizzy est ainsi, littéralement, saisi sous toutes ses coutures: essayage de tenue de scène africaine, discussion à l’aube avec des employés de la voirie parisienne, jeu de cartes avec une employée d’hôtel, téléphone quotidien à son épouse, plaisanteries avec ses musiciens… et même pause pipi sur le bord de la route!

Appréciés à la lumière de cette intimité développée dans les coulisses, les clichés de concerts acquièrent une autre dimension, traduisent une complicité unique: le regard de la photographe permet de pénétrer au coeur même de la création musicale spontanée qui se joue sur scène, devant son objectif.
(Luca Sabbatini, journaliste freelance).


Toutes les photographies de Dany Gignoux sont protégées par le copyright.
© Dany Gignoux / Centre d'Iconographie, Bibliothèque de Genève >

Photographies disponibles uniquement

Récolte de lavande, vers Riez & Valensole

1969

Prix sur demande

Parfumerie Fragonard, Grasse

1969

Prix sur demande

Champs de lavande, vers Riez & Valensole

1969

Prix sur demande

Récolte de lavande, vers Riez & Valensole

1969

CHF 190.–

Apiculteurs, région de Riez

1969

Prix sur demande

Fillette qui joue au sable, Geneva

circa 1969

CHF 380.–

Gel sur les quais, Geneva

1969

CHF 120.–

Parfumerie Fragonard, Grasse

1969

Prix sur demande

Champs de lavande, vers Riez & Valensole

1969

Prix sur demande

Roches Rouges de l'Estérel, Côte d'Azur

1969

CHF 90.–

Vente de lavande, Vallauris

1969

CHF 260.–

Orgue de la cathédrale Saint-Pierre, Geneva

1969

CHF 120.–

Gel sur la végétation, Geneva

1969

CHF 360.–

Parfumerie Fragonard, Grasse

1969

Prix sur demande

Cortège de l'Escalade, Geneva

1969

CHF 130.–

Gel sur la végétation, Geneva

1969

CHF 90.–

Champs de lavande, vers Riez & Valensole

1969

Prix sur demande

Cortège de l'Escalade, Geneva

1969

CHF 85.–

Fête de l'Escalade - Collège Calvin, Geneva

1969

CHF 65.–

Cortège de l'Escalade, Geneva

1969

CHF 90.–

Parfumerie Fragonard, Grasse

1969

Prix sur demande

Champs de lavande, vers Riez & Valensole

1969

Prix sur demande

Cortège de l'Escalade, Geneva

1969

CHF 75.–

Distillerie de lavande, Valensole

1969

Prix sur demande

Fête de l'Escalade - Collège Calvin, Geneva

1969

CHF 85.–